You should start a blog…

My name is Alicia and I am a writer. Being a writer, it made sense that my friends and family reacted to this declaration with the suggestion that I should start a blog. It certainly made sense; I could connect with the creative community, showcase my writing, and even make a living off my craft thanks to online resources. But while I am a writer, I am cursed with a shy disposition. And a shy disposition meant that this well-meaning idea was doomed to ruminate in my head until I had no other choice but to act on it.

And so here I am, starting a blog. While my overarching goal is for this blog to act as a portfolio for a developing freelance career, my underlying goal is to connect with others, track improvements in my writing, and contribute to online discourse. Although I have no set genre for my blog at this time, my interests include feminist topics, race, traveling, international relations, history, and creative writing.

Published by

Alicia Hooper

Alicia Hooper is a freelance writer and indie author. With a Master's degree in Political Science from George Mason University, she enjoys blending contemporary political narratives with fiction. When not writing, she can be found drawing, hiking, and playing piano. She currently resides in Virginia.

2 thoughts on “You should start a blog…”

Leave a Reply

